Whole30 – Day 4! 2 recipes!

Happy New Year!!

I know a few of have started their Whole30 journey today! I’m so excited for you! I’m here for you – questions, encouragement, etc. I know there are also many of you just trying to clean up their eating. These recipes are for you too! Learning Food Freedom which is the ultimate goal in doing Whole30 (or any new way of eating) is a process. A process that may take years like it has for Trevor & I. So don’t be discouraged!

Today was a much better day for meal planning & in execution. So that was encouraging. Especially since we had a rough night. Our power went out in the night & woke everyone (except my son Reese) up. Beeping monitors, scared toddler, & anxious dog. Oi! So eating well today was really important. I’m really glad we did. It was a great start to the New Year!

Lunch

Sukhothai Soup is something I discovered a few months ago & am in love with it! I loosely followed this recipe but made many modifications to match what I had at the restaurant & then had to make modifications for it to be compliant.

This recipe is super versatile so feel free to use whatever you have on hand. Chicken for beef or noodles for rice, etc. I love this recipe because you build it for each bowl instead of it being all together. It’s delicious!

Sukhothai Soup

Ingredients:

2-3 garlic cloves, sliced

1/3 cup of coconut oil

1 lb of ground pork or sausage

1 to 2 cups of green beans, trimmed

2-3 cups of broth – I used chicken

2 juice of limes

a few dashes of fish sauce

a few dashes of coconut aminos

1- 2 tsp of coconut sugar, adjust to taste

leave out for Whole30

1-2 tbsp chili paste, adjust to taste

Toppings: you choose!

cashews

green onions

rice (cauliflower rice for Whole30)

slivered carrots – raw

hard boiled egg

Method:

Melt coconut oil in dutch oven on medium low – let heat up for a minute & add garlic slices. Stir frequently until slightly brown should only take a few minutes – remove & set aside leave oil in pan. Turn off heat while you prepare the pork. Roll pork into small meatballs – fry in dutch oven on medium. I do this in two batches. Set the meatballs aside. Leave oil in pan.

Add broth to dutch oven & turn on high – bring to boil & add green beans. Let boil 3-4 minutes enough to be slightly cooked – should be crunchy. Scoop out the green beans & rinse them with cold water to stop the cooking. Set aside.

Then add lime juice, fish juice, coconut sugar, & chili paste to broth. Let simmer on low while you assemble all the other ingredients.

Layer this soup however you’d like – I start with a handful of cashews, slivered carrots, rice (or cauliflower rice), meatballs, broth, fried garlic, hard boiled egg (I skipped the egg this time), & green onions.

Enjoy!

Dinner

We planned on having a spiral ham for dinner but we didn’t pull it out in time (still frozen & Trevor wanted it baked instead of using the Instant Pot which we could of done frozen). Anyway, I had some ground beef defrosted so I decided to make Sloppy Joes. My friend Stevie shared this recipe with me & it’s become a staple since! I served it with a baked potato & roasted broccoli. If you don’t have dates & are doing a Whole30 you can just leave them out but if you aren’t doing a Whole30 coconut sugar works great or regular sugar too.

I also added a side salad which is a great way to beef up any meal. I used arugula, apples, pecans, drizzled with olive oil & salt & pepper. Super simple but really tasty!

  • Happy Eating! I’d love to hear if you tried either of these recipes & if you liked it!

    One thought on “Whole30 – Day 4! 2 recipes!

    1. Your lunch looked amazing!! We are definitely trying that recipe. And nice sloppies! I have a go-to recipe, too, that looks similar (but without the dates and a few other items in there). I was tired of the “classic” just-add-ketchup recipes! I’m going to have to try this one, too 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    Leave a comment