Whole30 Day 5

Today was the first day back to reality after Christmas vacation. The kids & I missed having Trevor/Daddy around all day but I’m thankful he’s not traveling for a few weeks!

Today’s meal were fairly simple. Some days I make complicated meals & other days I keep it simple. Today was a fairly simple day because it was most leftovers! I love leftovers & how simple they can make future meals. I also love how they allow you to have a mini meal if you need it especially the first few days of Whole30 while your body adjusts to no snacking. Mini meals are simply the portions of a regular meal just smaller. Today I had a mini meal between lunch & dinner. I started not feeling very well & decided I needed a mini meal (the idea is not to go hungry! so if you need to eat, eat a mini meal). I make 2 slices of bacon, deviled egg, & some raw peppers. It was just enough to get me through to dinner!

Lunch!

lunch was leftovers from a few days ago. Day 1 actually!

Dinner!

Lunch was leftovers from day 3 – New Years Eve & New Years Day.

I have a few disclaimers about dinner. We are not Whole30 purists, especially because this is not our 1st round. If it’s your first round (or even second) be strict as you can. So dinner was a spiral ham – technically – not compliant. The ingredients were ham, water, & then 2% of some preservatives & sugar. Trevor & I have a few exceptions when it comes to Whole30 journey because it makes it easier (accessible) to do. Finding a compliant ham is nearly impossible & very expensive. We did not use the glaze in the packaging – full of sugar! So we do our best.

A spiral ham was in our freezer so spiral ham it was for dinner tonight! I made a compliant glaze that was delicious! It was pineapple juice, orange juice, dates, cinnamon, nutmeg, clove, & allspice. It turned out better than I expected.

I also made green bean casserole. I made compliant cream of mushroom & then followed this classic green bean casserole recipe using the cream of mushroom & coconut aminos instead of soy sauce. It turned out very tasty!

I also made home fries. This is a family favorite & so simple! I made white potatoes & sweet potatoes. We use cast iron for almost all our cooking.

Home Fries

1-2 cups of potatoes (sweet or white), peeled & cubed

1/2 cup coconut oil

salt & pepper

Melt coconut oil on medium low fry pan for 1-2 minutes. Then add potatoes. Season with salt & pepper to taste. Stir in seasonings then let fry for 3-4 minutes (or more) before stirring. I use s metal flipper it helps keep the potatoes from sticking. The less you stir the better. Add more coconut oil if needed.

We will be eating leftovers for the next several days & making ham bone broth. I see potato chowder in our future & maybe scallop potatoes & ham (one of my childhood favorites!)

Leave a comment