Whole30 Day 2 Recipes!

I kept it simple today. We had taco salads for lunch. I don’t really follow a recipe for this meal but I do make my own taco seasoning. I typically use this recipe. I make a whole jar of it to keep on hand.

I sauté onions & peppers in some coconut oil. I add salt & oregano as they cook. Then I fry up the meat (today I used ground beef other times I use turkey) in a little bit of coconut oil. After it’s done cooking I add the taco seasoning & turn it on low for 5 or so minutes.

On to the toppings! I made guacamole & we used a compliant salsa all over some lettuce. It is honestly one of our favorite meals!

Now for dinner we had pulled pork I typically use this recipe. I do mine in the Instant Pot for about 60 minutes or a cut it up in chunks & cook it for 30 minutes. I do baked potatoes & sweet potatoes (T like white potatoes for this meal & I like sweet).

I also make coleslaw. Sometimes I make mayo & other times I use Trader Joes mayo that is compliant aside from canola oil. I can live with that. I use this recipe. I use premix of coleslaw & I used apple juice (2 tbsp) to sweetened it instead of honey.

Update on the day.

Today was a good day overall. Breakfast is always hard for me. I hate breakfast & never feel like eating but as many of you know you get 3 full meals (eat until your full!) a day witn Whole30. So skipping breakfast doesn’t work out so well & not part of the program. I find after about a week or so of the program I feel more like eating breakfast. In the mean time I’m just forcing myself the best I can.

This is where meal prep helps. Having a breakfast already prepared helps so much! It can be hard boiled eggs, a breakfast casserole, or even leftovers from the night before – like I do. Let’s be honest breakfast is just another meal it doesn’t matter what you eat as long as you eat & it’s compliant.

I failed to follow my own advice today. I was running late for church & didn’t allot enough time to eat (plus I didn’t feel like it at all) so I didn’t eat until lunch. Usually since I’m hypoglycemic (I faint when my sugar is low) & I run into these issues I at least eat an Epic bar (compliant jerky bars!) & some cashews. Somehow today I felt okay & waited for lunch. Not the wisest move, I’ll do better tomorrow!

Even after doing several rounds of Whole30 it takes a few days to adjust to the no snacking. Your appetite adjusts, I promise!

Leave a comment