Whole30 Day 1!

Full disclosure about a few things..

I eat really weird breakfasts.. like today – soup!

Also some recipes I loosely follow so I will try to post my modifications too. I’m not very good at following a recipe to the T.

Trevor & I have done several Whole30s. We mostly know our trigger foods so that’s not why we are doing a Whole30 as much as a reset. So we are allowing ourselves a small amount of rice (once a week or so) & cauliflower gnocchi. If your doing a Whole30 & this is your first don’t follow our example. Follow the rules! You’ll be glad you did!

I highly recommend meal planning, shopping, & clearing out you pantry of non-compliant food (the best you can – toddlers here!) bedore you begin your Whole30. This round I didn’t follow my own advice. I meal planned this morning & shopped. After we got home from shopping I cleared out our pantry. Don’t be like me! I will say that you may have good & bad days on Whole30 – just do your best! It will never be perfect.

A few days ago I got creative & inspired by Whole30 instagram page. They posted something similar to what I did but I made it personal for myself. Don’t laugh.. I know my artwork is.. not the greatest. Haha.

On the food adventures of today & recipes! This morning for breakfast I had leftovers I made a few days ago Zuppa soup! Like they serve at Olive Garden except you use canned coconut milk instead of regular milk! I use plain sausage – feel free to use whatever you find. Just be sure all the rest of your ingredients are compliant.

http://eclecticrecipes.com/zuppa-toscana

Lunch was not so great. I was out shopping with the family & didn’t plan very well. I ended up eating compliant turkey meat, plantains, & grapes. This was not a great Whole30 meal it lacked a serious amount of vegetables but it was still compliant. Next time I’ll plan better!

Part of the reason I’m blogging is to help others but also to keep myself accountable & inspired with cooking! It’s easy to fall into a rut.

Dinner went MUCH better! I made Sausage Stuffed Acorn Squash. It was very good & we had leftovers! I do everything this recipe says except I don’t like spinach so I left it out. I meant to put arugula in it instead but one of the kids needed me & I forgot. oops! I also wanted to make a salad to go with it but I ran out of time & we were really hungry.

https://www.paleorunningmomma.com/wprm_print/16971

Leave a comment